FANDOM




A massive earthquake of magnitude of 9.0 occurred Friday 11 March, off the Pacific coast of the northeastern part of the Japanese main land (Tohoku Region), causing devastating damages. The Japan Meteorological Agency named this earthquake "The 2011 off the Pacific coast of Tohoku Earthquake."

Earthquake SummaryEdit

Date and Time: 11 March 2011 14:46 JST (05:46 UTC)
Magnitude: 9.0 (interim value; the largest earthquake recorded in Japan)
Hypocenter: N38.1, E142.9 (130km ESE off Ojika Peninsula) Depth 24km (interim value)
Mechanism: Reverse fault type with WNW-ESE compressional axis (by CMT analysis)
JMA Seismic Intensity:
7 (Max) Kurihara City of Miyagi Prefecture
6+ 28 cities and towns (including Wakuya Town, Tome City, Osaki City, Natori City) in Miyagi, Fukushima, Ibaraki, and Tochigi Prefectures
6- or weaker Observed nationwide from Hokkaido to Kyushu
Tsunami Warnings and Advisories:
Date and Time Action Number of Areas (Total : 66 areas)
Warning
(3m or higher)
Warning
(Up to 2m)
Advisory
(About 0.5m)
11 March 2011 14:49 JST (05:49 UTC) Issued 3 5 15
11 March 2011 15:14 JST (06:14 UTC) Increased 6 7 23
11 March 2011 15:33 JST (06:33 UTC) Increased 10 24 11
11 March 2011 16:08 JST (07:08 UTC) Increased 17 19 17
11 March 2011 18:47 JST (09:47 UTC) Increased 17 19 18
11 March 2011 21:35 JST (12:35 UTC) Increased 17 22 19
11 March 2011 22:53 JST (13:53 UTC) Increased 18 21 19
12 March 2011 03:20 JST (18:20 UTC) Increased 18 21 27
12 March 2011 13:50 JST (04:50 UTC) Decreased 4 11 26
12 March 2011 20:20 JST (11:20 UTC) Decreased 0 4 21
13 March 2011 07:30 JST (22:30 UTC) Decreased 0 0 15
13 March 2011 17:58 JST (08:58 UTC) Lifted 0 0 0
Observed Tsunami: 8.5m or higher at Miyako (Iwate Pref.), 8.0m at Ofunato (Iwate Pref.), etc

Aftershocks (as of 12:00 JST, 25 March 2011)Edit

Largest Aftershock: Magnitude 7.7 at 11 March 2011 15:15 JST (06:15 UTC)
Number:
3 (magnitude 7 or greater)
59 (magnitude 6 or greater)
352 (magnitude 5 or greater)
Possibility:
(maximum JMA
Seismic Intensity
5+ or higher)
20% (period: 12:00JST, 25 March ~ 12:00JST, 28 March)
20% (period: 12:00JST, 28 March ~ 12:00JST, 31 March)

Status of Observation Facilities (as of 23 March 2011)Edit

Number of troubled facilities Total number of facilities
11 March 2011 23 March 2011
Automatic Weather Stations * 398 19 (Eastern Japan) 799
Seismometers 21 2 (Tohoku District) 26
Seismic Intensity Stations 55 7 (Tohoku District) 88
Tidal Gauges 20 17 (Tohoku District) 25
  • In addition, NTT docomo (a mobile telecommunication company in Japan) has provided JMA with meteorological observation data at its 5 environmental monitoring stations (verified and notified in advance) near the tsunami affected areas in Tohoku District, based on the Meteorological Service Law.

Observed Data in last 6 hours (Japanese)

Charts (PDF)Edit

Earthquake and Tsunami InformationEdit

JMA's Service on Earthquake, Tsunami and Volcanic ActivityEdit


Weather Forecast and Warning/Advisory in the disaster DistrictsEdit

Weather Warnings/AdvisoriesEdit

Fukushima Iwate Miyagi Yamagata Aomori Akita Ibaraki

Daily Weather ForecastEdit

Fukushima Iwate Miyagi Yamagata Aomori Akita Ibaraki

Three-hourly ForecastEdit

Fukushima Iwate Miyagi Yamagata Aomori Akita Ibaraki

One-week ForecastEdit

Fukushima Iwate Miyagi Yamagata Aomori Akita Ibaraki

Local Weather Information around Fukushima Nuclear Power StationsEdit

Weather Forecast at Airports and AirspaceEdit

Hanamaki Airport Yamagata Airport
Sendai Airport Fukushima Airport

Wind, Wave and Tide Forecast at Marine Ports (PDF)Edit

Aomori Pref. Aomori
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Hachinohe
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Iwate Pref. Kuji
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Miyako
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Kamaishi
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Ofunato
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Miyagi Pref. Ishinomaki
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Shiogama
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Fukushima Pref. Soma
(Wind and Wave / Tide)
Onahama
(Wind and Wave / Tide)

Weather Observations in the disaster DistrictsEdit

AMeDAS(Automated Weather Station Network)Edit

Weather Observation at AirportsEdit

News ReleasesEdit


LinksEdit


Anshuman Bhardwaj 07:04, March 28, 2011 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.